Sheffield Eagles Official Website

Betfred Championship EVOGO

Squad Numbers for 2022 season


Sheffield Eagles have announced their squad numbers for the 2022 season, as they return to the Steel City at the Sheffield Olympic Legacy Park. 

15 new signings will be looking to make their mark at the Eagles, and five of them have been handed shirts between 1-13.

Ben Jones-Bishop and Jason Bass, who have both signed from York City Knights, are named number two and number five while ex-Doncaster pair Brandon Douglas and Liam Johnson have been given eight and eleven respectively.

Ross Oakes will be the number four after his off-season move from Bradford Bulls.

Vila Halafihi, who has followed in the footsteps of his father - Nick - in signing for the Eagles will play in the number 14 jersey.

Mikey Wood is assigned number 15 while former Oldham pair Liam Kirk and Martyn Reilly are 17 and 18.

Kris Welham brings a wealth of experience to the table and the centre will be number 19.

Outside backs Matty Chrimes and Ben Sheils will be trying to battle their way into action in the number 22 and 26 shirts respectively.

Fellow new recruits Bayley Liu, Will Wallis and Kadeem Williams will be numbers 23, 24 and 25 respectively.

Outside of the newbies, Izaac Farrell will play in the famous number six shirt which was still available after it wasn't filled from the 2021 season.

Evan Hodgson moves to number 13, left open following the departure of Aaron Brown to Widnes Vikings.

It won’t be a surprise for Eagles fans to see Josh Guzdek and Anthony Thackeray in the number one and number seven shirts as the duo have been first team fixtures since signing for the club in 2019.

Full Squad; 

  1.   Josh Guzdek
  2.   Ben Jones-Bishop
  3.   Connor Bower
  4.   Ross Oakes
  5.   Jason Bass
  6.   Izaac Farrell
  7.   Anthony Thackeray
  8.   Brandon Douglas
  9.   James Davey 
  10.   Tyler Dickinson
  11.   Liam Johnson 
  12.   Joel Farrell
  13.   Evan Hodgson
  14.   Vila Halafihi
  15.   Mikey Wood
  16.   Blake Broadbent
  17.   Liam Kirk
  18.   Martyn Reilly
  19.   Kris Welham
  20.   Harry Tyson-Wilson
  21.   Ryan Johnson
  22.   Matty Chrimes
  23.   Bayley Liu
  24.   Will Wallis
  25.   Kadeem Williams
  26.   Ben Sheils

You can watch Sheffield Eagles in their return to the Sheffield Olympic Legacy Park with a 2022 Season Membership, available from

Read more about the squad of 26, as well as potential sponsorship opportunities, on the Player Profiles page:

The Eagles are holding an Open Training Session at the OLP on Saturday from 9am till 10am. Make sure to come down and watch how the squad are preparing for the new campaign also see the work that has been done to the stand.