Sheffield Eagles Official Website

Betfred Championship EVOGO

Leadership Group announced


Sheffield Eagles will have a Leadership Group for the 2022 season, comprising of several experienced members of the squad. 

Kris Welham, Ben Jones-Bishop and Anthony Thackeray - the three oldest players within the team - have been chosen by Director of Rugby Mark Aston, alongside forwards Tyler Dickinson and Joel Farrell.

An announcement will be made tomorrow regarding the roles of club captain and vice captain. 

Discussing the Leadership Group and the reason behind its formation, Aston said: “It’s key to have a good amount of experience within the squad and that is exactly what we have here,” 

“With that experience, you need leaders and these five players will provide that. 

“It was a no-brainer to have Kris, Bish and Thacks as part of the Leadership Group. 

"They have certainly been around the block and their input to what we do during games and in preparation will be vital. 

“As for Tyler and Joel, they’re two players we want to be around the club for many years to come and we feel their introduction into the Leadership Group will only help them to grow as players and as people.” 


With the new season just over a week away, excitement is kicking in around the club and we want you to be at the Sheffield Olympic Legacy Park to cheer on the Eagles.

Make sure to purchase your Season Membership from and be with us at every home game!