Sheffield Eagles - official site

Eagles announce squad numbers for 2018 season

2nd February 2018, 11:30

Eagles announce squad numbers for 2018 season

In the lead-up to the first game of the 2018 Betfred Championship season, Sheffield Eagles Director of Rugby Mark Aston has announced his side's squad numbers. 

They are as follows.. 

1. Ryan Millar 

2. Iliess Macani 

3. Menzie Yere 

4. Joshua Toole 

5. Ben Blackmore 

6. Oscar Thomas 

8. Mark Offerdahl 

9. Matty Fozard (VC)

10. Jon Magrin 

11. Nabil Djalout 

12. Shaun Pick 

13. Matt James (C)

14. Greg Burns 

15. Oliver Davies 

16. Kieran Moran 

17. Daniel Igbinedion 

19. Jordan Tansey (Trial)

20. Max Garcia

21. Blake Broadbent (Trial)

23. Cory Aston (Loan)

24. Garry Lo (Loan)

25. Jake Spedding (DR)

26. James Bentley (DR)

27. Jack Ashworth (DR)

28. Matty Lees (DR)

Mark Aston said of the announcement: "Some people take more notice of squad numbers than I do. I will, and always have, go with the best starting 17 for each match, regardless of the number that is on the back of the shirt."

"That said, it's great to see four products of the Eagles Youth Development System in Millar, Burns, Broadbent and Aston in that list. It was heartbreaking when we had to discontinue all the hard work and effort people had put in to build that up but it's one of our aims over the next couple of seasons to begin that process again."